scgoddess

Life in Chaos

Yarn Stash, Part 2 October 10, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — scgoddess @ 11:55 am
Tags: ,

Back to update my long ago post about my yarn stash. In April & May, I set about organizing all of my yarn. My plan was to wind, photograph and list it all in Evernote. Much to my surprise….it worked! I frequently have good ideas and then wash out in the implementation.

I ended up with 5 categories :
Worsted & DK
Bulky & Beyond
Laceweight
Sock
Exotics, Fuzzies, Funky & Random Others

When I logged the yarn info & photo into Evernote, I included a photo of the label from the skein. That way I can see at a glance the gauge and yardage of each one. When I wrapped each ball, I also included the label. Deep down in the stash, I did discover several skeins with no label – I was surprised there were not more. Those I just made a guess about what fiber and weight it was. Hope they end up being happy accidents.

After all of that, I ended up with 263 balls of yarn. That does not include the balls in a large glass container I use for decoration in the living room. You would think that all that yarn would be enough…….you would be wrong!

Since then, I have added to the stash. There have been several irresistible online sales and a shop closing sale. I have put all of the new stuff into Evernote, but have resisted the urge to make another count. Pushing 300 balls is as close as I want to get.

I really am trying to make a dent in the stash. I’ll just keep on knitting….

Now if I could just figure out how to deal with the laundry basket full of random knitting patterns and books. I’ll leave that for another day…

Here are a couple of photos – first in current project on needles. It’s a simple diagonal scarf, the yarn makes the difference. It’s a Kidsilk Stripe Haze. Light, airy and gorgeous. The second photo is the glass jar of yarn in living room – I think it makes a great decoration.

20131010-115203.jpg

20131010-115216.jpg

Back to knitting, I have a mountain of yarn to use……

 

One Response to “Yarn Stash, Part 2”

  1. MamaD1xx4xy Says:

    I recognize some of those yarns….you are lucky I haven’t tried to steal that glass bowl yet!


Leave a comment